Highton Middle School Instrumental Music and Choir Information

MIDDLE SCHOOL HIGHTON - MUSIC DEPARTMENT NEWS

The Music Department welcomes current and new students to Middle School Highton in 2017. 
The following information is regarding instrumental tuition and ensemble rehearsals for all students currently learning and commencing instrumental lessons, and for current ensemble members and those wishing to join ensembles.

MUSIC LESSONS:

-Instrumental tuition will have commenced by the end of Week 2. Instrumental teachers will make contact with families prior to the first lesson.

-For students wanting to learn an instrument, Blue Instrumental Tuition forms are available from the Student Office and/or music department office.

-Lessons are published on the Student Portal/Seqta Home Page two days in advance, and students are encouraged to use Outlook/email for effective communication with Instrumental teachers.

 

ENSEMBLE REHEARSALS:

-Ensembles will begin in Week 2. New students who are currently learning instruments are encouraged to contact the ensemble directors or Classroom Music Staff listed below for more information.

 

ENSEMBLE

DAY AND TIME

VENUE

STAFF

STAFF CONTACT

OTHER INFORMATION

Highton Novice Stage Band

Tuesday

8.00 – 8.50am

Highton Band Room

Mr Ben Anderson

b.anderson@ccg.vic.edu.au

Must be a member of a college concert band.

Highton Keyboard Ensemble

Tuesday

8.00 – 8.50am

Highton Music Classroom

Ms Stefanie Gumienik

s.gumienik@ccg.vic.edu.au

Members are students who learn piano at the Middle School.

Intermediate Concert Band

Tuesday

4.00 -5.15pm

Highton Band Room, (rear north corner of campus)

Mr Andrew Dunlop 

a.dunlop@ccg.vic.edu.au

For intermediate concert band musicians.

Yrs 6- 11.

Highton Theory Classes

Wednesday

8.00 – 8.50am

Highton Music Classroom

Ms Brighid Mantelli

b.mantelli@ccg.vic.edu.au

Music theory tuition for students who are learning an instrument.

Highton Choir

Wednesday

3.45-4.45pm

Highton Chapel

Mrs Carla Dunlop

Mrs Tammy Treloar

c.barnett@ccg.vic.edu.au

t.treloar@ccg.vic.edu.au

The choir is non-auditioned based, Years 5-9.
* Please refer to attachment Highton Choir Invitation.

Highton Intermediate Stage Band

Wednesday

3.45-5.15pm

Highton Band Room

Mr Sean Rankin

s.rankin@ccg.vic.edu.au

Must be a member of a campus concert band.

Highton Strings

Thursday 7.50-8.50am

Highton Band Room, top level

Mr Olivier Bonnici

Ms Rebecca Bertoncello

o.bonnici@ccg.vic.edu.au

r.bertoncello@ccg.vic.edu.au

Highton Guitar Ensemble

Thursday 8.00-8.45am

Highton Music Classroom

Mr Ivan Bilic

i.bilic@ccg.vic.edu.au

Guitar students Yrs 5-9.

Highton Novice Concert Band

Thursday 7.50-8.50am

Highton Band Room, ground floor

Mr Andrew Dunlop

Mrs Fiona Gardner

a.dunlop@ccg.vic.edu.au

f.gardner@ccg.vic.edu.au

Students learning brass, woodwind or percussion will be invited to join this ensemble once they have reached a suitable level on their instrument.

 

STAFF CONTACTS:

Please feel free to contact the Music Staff above or Music Admin (music.admin@ccg.vic.edu.au) if you have any queries or simply need help/advice in getting started on your musical journey.

 

Mrs Carla Dunlop.

 

< back to news

Previous Issues