From the Head of Senior School

Welcome To Senior School Evening

Our Welcome To Senior School Evening was held last Tuesday and it was extremely well attended by all year levels. The purpose of the evening was for parents and guardians to meet their child’s House Group teacher who will play an important role while their son/daughter attends Senior School. The subject teachers were available to speak about how their child has commenced the year, allowing for good connections for now and in the future. The Heads of House and Year Level Co-ordinators were able to meet all that were there and answer any concerns that may have arisen to date.

The Year 10 families met in the Chapel to hear of the year ahead and I wish to thank both Ms Kim Doherty and Mr Paul Breguet for coordinating this. As Year 10 Coordinators, their care and compassion will allow all in their care, to flourish at Senior School.

There was also the Debutante Information session for the Year 11 families who were interested in this major event. It is a wonderful occasion and is the culmination of ten weeks of rehearsing and much organisation. Any queries about the Debutante Ball should be directed to Ms Diane Martin.

We also had our 2018 Senior School Prefects on hand to mingle and hand around food to our guests.  I wish to thank them for all that they did to make it a successful evening.


Prefect Investiture and Dedication of New staff

This important and formal event was on Thursday and held at the Barrabool Hills Baptist Church. Our Prefects for this year were formally invested before God, receiving their blue blazer and they all saw this as an important occasion. I must thank the large number of family members present.

Our guest speaker was Cam Greenwood and he spoke about, “Why we are here on earth” and “What can we achieve while we are here?" He explained how his own business, Monsta Surf, commenced and its aim of providing aid and support for many countries like Kenya. He was inspirational and we all left with the clear message of what is possible.


The College Prefects are:  Lachlan Brough, Jude Cudmore, Isabel Hackett, Megan Heathcote, Bailey Hunter, Nathan Pearson, Caelli Wood and Hannah Wood.

The House Prefects are:

Burrows - Serena Cullum, Toby Edwards, Andrew Ganly and Mackenzie Goodson.

Flynn - James Dat, Emilee Johnson, Georgia Quick and Matthew Tattersall.

Penman - Charlie Dent, Isaac Hanneysee, Holly Peacock and Cameron Ritchie.

Taylor - Tanayah Blackhall, Phoebe Howard, James Jirik and Sarah Martin.


The new staff were also inducted and blessed yesterday at the Investiture. They have been called to our College and will all serve your child in the very best manner.

The new staff are:  Mr Drew Oliver, Ms Robyn Jackson, Ms Francine Chard, Ms Emily Waters, Ms Julie Funston and Ms Helen Daffy.

We were also blessed to have a performance by the 30 students in the Senior School Choir and the Senior Wind Symphony, who performed beautifully for all.


I would like to thank all of the staff at Senior School for a wonderful start to the Year. 



Mr Graeme Dent

Head of Senior School - Waurn Ponds


File downloads:
< back to news

Previous Issues